Author Journey December 2018

Any big announcements? Not really. I had a very nice Christmas at home with the family. We cooked a turkey and all the trimming, and it turned out to be very nice. I got a new laptop after struggling with my last one for eight years. The new one is silent by comparison and a millions times faster, so that should aid my productivity no end.

How’s the writing going? At the moment it’s not really going at all. I’m still working on a cat-girl short for Otaku Stories volume seven. The first draft is done, now I just have to edit it and we can release that. I’ve decided that I am going to pause Valiant Lineage so that I can get the edits done on a collaborative trilogy that I’ve been working on for over a year now. It’s going to be awesome. Here’s a sneak peek at the first cover.

Continue reading “Author Journey December 2018”

All I want for Christmas…

Merry Christmas and happy holidays. I hope you got what you wanted and are now enjoying some good food and maybe playing a board game or two.

In an ideal world, I would have got season two of Highschool of the Dead. It’s what I ask Santa for every year. He says he’ll see what he can do, although he has asked me to stop sitting on his knee…

So, if you were still looking to get me something and you aren’t able to magic up season two, this is what I would accept as a suitable replacement.

It doesn’t come with a Humvee for her to stand on, but I’m sure I’ll make do.

I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday and a prosperous New Year.

Author Journey November 2018

Any big announcements? It was my first full month as a fulltime stay at home dad and I think we’re kind of settling into our positions. He’s the boss and now he’s crawling! It is a totally rewarding role, but it is an awful lot of work. I haven’t had a day off since I left the office… (that’s a joke!)

How’s the writing going? Continue reading “Author Journey November 2018”

Author Journey October 2018

Any big announcements? So, this month I have started a new and interesting challenge and it’s a long one. For the next year, my primary job will be raising our second child. I’m looking forward to our time together and am well aware of just how much more work is involved (and I’ve only been doing it for two weeks). Seriously, an office job is a breeze in comparison.

How’s the writing going? Continue reading “Author Journey October 2018”

Author Journey September 2018

So, if August was a lean month for writing, then September was practically a famine. It was my lowest month for both writing and editing so far this year, but don’t get too down, a lot of the work I had put in earlier is starting to come to fruition. Valiant Lineage, book 6 – The Lady in the Lake went live and book 7 – The Kid, the Dead, and the Ugly goes live in four days.

On top of those, we also released two more books in the Otaku Stories series. First, we released book 3: Symbiote and it features my story, Fire and Slice. These stories were inspired by the 1980’s anime series The Guyver: Bio-Booster Armour and all of them are great. It is without a doubt our strongest collection. So, if you enjoy space marines, strange and exotic worlds with deadly creatures, or some fairly dark comedy then you will love these stories.

After that, we released book 4: Trope, with my short Samurai School for Girls. This collection was inspired by the brilliantly zany anime Project A-ko. Again, these are all very entertaining. Jon’s steampunk story was also selected for the story podcast – The Other Stories where it was professionally narrated. If you enjoy podcasts and stories, you should definitely check them out. Continue reading “Author Journey September 2018”